Will Things Ever Get Back To ‘Normal’?

When I was younger, I read about the things generations before me had to overcome. I read about how brave they had been and how their resilience helped them through some of the most challenging times in their lives. Fast forward to present times, and here I am, unbelieving of what has gone down in the past two years.


It still feels surreal that on 20th March 2020, The news informed us that school would be closing and I would be teaching online. At that time, I thought we would have an extended Easter break and then get back to work as usual. Well, as we all know, that did not happen. The reality is that even as I type this, over a year after the initial school closures, work for me is still not 100% back to normal.


As I have mentioned in my ‘about’ profile, I am working in Qatar at an International school. Yes! I moved continent, job and home during a pandemic. It seems that the school restrictions carried on here for quite a while longer than they did in the UK. However, the school did return to 100% capacity in the new academic year.


BUT… Today I have been sent home as my bubble had to be closed. Just as I was beginning to feel like a ‘proper’ Teacher again.
While online learning had its benefits, I started to feel like I had forgotten how to teach while standing in front of a room full of children. I had definitely forgotten how hard it is lol. My step count has drastically increased with all the running around the room, helping students and trying to mark during the lesson.


Anyway, I am slightly worried that things may start to go downhill again, I mean this could just be a blip.


In seven days, my students could return and all might be fine. I just can’t shift the niggling worry in the back of my mind that this may be the start of something more at work. If nothing else, it is a sharp reminder that Covid-19 has not left the building and will strike when you least expect it.


Well in the spirit of trying not to overthink and worry about things beyond my control, I am going to make the most of not having to get dressed properly for work and go to the loo whenever I want to lol.


I will be tested for Covid tomorrow.


Hopefully, the result will come back as negative and I’ll be ok.
Lets see what happens.


I will write again soon but for now byeeee.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started